C ommunication, C apacity building,

E ducation,

P articipation and

A wareness

Regional Training for Wetland Managers

Since 2009, the RRC-EA has organized regional level trainings for wetland managers annually. It is a five-day training basically consisting of four (4) sessions: (1) information and experience sharing, (2) seeking solutions on common and site-specific problems, (3) special lectures, and (4) field visit. More than 300 Ramsar Sites and wetland managers and stakeholders have benefitted from the training and improved their knowledge and capacity on wetland management. The training also provides opportunities for cooperation among wetland managers. The training is open to all interested individuals who work on wetland conservation and management.

National Training for Wetland Managers

While organizing regional level trainings, the RRC-EA realized that only limited numbers of wetland managers are able to participate in the trainings because of language issues. To provide equal opportunities for education and capacity building to wetland managers who are not very adept in English, the RRC-EA developed a new training module called “National level training” or “Local language training” for wetland managers. This approach allows for the use of national language as the medium of communication during trainings. To date, the training has been effective in delivering messages to the participants and in encouraging communication among themselves to understand issues better and to reach agreements. The RRC-EA organizes national trainings every year in different countries.

Subregional Training for Wetland Managers

In recent years, the RRC-EA observed that there is a gap in terms of the scale of its capacity building interventions. Thus, the RRC-EA introduced subregional trainings for wetland managers as capacity building support in between the regional and national levels. These subregional trainings will target transboundary wetlands and help strengthen cooperation among stakeholders in the Yellow/West Sea (Republic of Korea, China and Democratic People’s Republic of Korea), Lower Mekong River (Cambodia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Thailand and Viet Nam), and Bay of Bengal (Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar and Sri Lanka).